Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

Guys, if I were to be completely honest…. I made blueberry cheesecake rectangles. And yet telling people that you’re about to feed them ‘blueberry cheesecake rectangles’ doesn’t have quite the same ring to it. So yes, cut them up into squares. Get out a ruler and be absolutely pedantic about it. Or you can just tell them they’re squares and serve them rectangles – that’s how I’d play it!

McVitie's Digestive biscuit base

McVitie's Digestive biscuit base

Shapes aside, the story is that we were invited to someone’s place for dinner and we usually bring something along, more often than not dessert. I volunteered to make it, and since we had blueberry pie filling, I thought I’d make blueberry cheesecake. Now we usually have a go-to recipe for cheesecake, but honestly, it’s a bit of a mission making that one because there are quite a few ingredients involved and more than just a bit of mixing. It was a hot day, I was tired, and I simply wasn’t up for further kitchen slavery. So I decided to ditch it and find a new recipe that would hopefully turn out right. I bought the ingredients, and left the cream cheese on the counter to soften up. Then I tried reading ‘One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest’ in the lounge. Don’t start asking me about it though; I fell asleep and really, it wasn’t my type of book.

Or maybe I should really just admit my failure to digest classics.

I've got great love for food processors

I've got great love for food processors

The good thing is, I digest classic food very well (har dee har har), especially when it comes to desserts, so I’m glad to say that this recipe was very easy to work with. If I can make it in my sleepy dazed state, so can you! Our family’s favourite cheesecake base is almost always made of McVitie’s Digestive biscuits, and I wouldn’t change that for the world. American readers, I haven’t come across graham crackers so I can’t even imagine what it tastes like. By all means, if you love that, you should stick with it.

Try not to put a fork in it and eat it all just yet!

Try not to put a fork in it and eat it all just yet!

If you don’t have blueberry pie filling (and it’s not exactly a supermarket shelf item here in Australia!), you can make your own by cooking down canned blueberries, adjusting the sweetness, and adding in cornstarch which has been diluted in water as a thickener. The next thing I did was to reduce the sugar because that’s just what I do by default, and also due to the sweetness of the blueberry topping I have on hand. I know everyone has their preferred level of sweetness when it comes to desserts, so go with your gut on this one. If you think I’m crazy for cutting down on that 1/4 cup, then add it in. Or you could roll with my version and justify having another slice! Glutton is my middle name, after all.

P/S: I forgot to bring my camera to the dinner party, so excuse the crappy photo of the final product.

Pretty purple layer to top it all off!

Pretty purple layer to top it all off!

Blueberry Cheesecake Squares
Adapted from Dienia B’s Blueberry Delight recipe

  • 400 g McVitie’s Digestive biscuits
  • 125 g unsalted butter, melted
  • 500 g cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup blueberry pie filling
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla essence
  1. Crush the Digestive biscuits into a fine consistency (you can put them in a ziplock bag and use a rolling pin to bash them, or you can use a grinder) and mix well with melted butter. Press into the base of a 9 x 13 inch (22 cm x 33 cm) Pyrex dish or baking dish.
  2. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  3. Beat the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla essence with a handheld mixer or blitz in a food processor until smooth (I used the latter method!).
  4. Mix in the eggs one by one and combine well.
  5. Pour the cheese mixture on top of the biscuit base and bake for 20 minutes. Do not overbake as the cake will further set upon cooling.
  6. Let cool completely.
  7. Spread the blueberry pie filling on the cheesecake evenly and refrigerate overnight.
  8. Cut into rectangles/squares/whatever shape your heart fancies and serve.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

  1. It reminds my last weekend when I was in my friend house using Digestive and make desert 🙂

    nice 1 Saph 🙂

Leave a Reply

