Classic Vanilla Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream Frosting

Classic Vanilla Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream Frosting

Classic Vanilla Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream Frosting

I have to say, I thought I was being creative when I decided to make these. I had time off work, so I started taking the butter out of the fridge to soften, removed the food processor and other dry ingredients from the pantry and turned on my ‘dancefloor’ playlist. My only worry was whether or not my mom would hang me for using one of the mangoes she had gotten for a dollar each at Aldi. See, it’s mango season now and she’s been on a bit of a mango kick recently, but I figured she wouldn’t mind if the cupcakes tasted good!

Because I obviously forgot to take a photo!

Because I obviously forgot to take a photo!

Everything went perfectly. The cupcakes were a nice golden colour and the frosting was light with the mango flavour popping right through and it wasn’t numbingly sweet. That’s really all I could’ve asked for. I was ready to start washing up the dishes when my mom walked in the door. And immediately, she said, “Mango cupcakes!”

I frowned. Who in the world had ruined my surprise?! I hadn’t even tweeted about it!

Fresh mango! YUMMEH.

Fresh mango! YUMMEH.

Turns out the latest issue of the Woolworths Fresh magazine has a recipe along the same lines. I grumbled a lot, but I felt better once my family started eating them and telling me that it tasted great. Thank goodness. But honestly though, here I thought I wasn’t all too lacking in creativity, only to realise that just about everyone (I have the right to exaggerate) who shops there now has the same train of thought. Boo! I was, and still am genuinely annoyed so I haven’t had a look at it, but I sure hope mine can match it. Haha, talk about defiance!

Frosting is the best part about cupcakes!

Frosting is the best part about cupcakes!

Anyway, this recipe is an old classic which I have modified from Taste. It had enough good reviews for me to decide to try it out, which I’m glad I did as the cupcake was nicely done. As a rule of thumb, I almost always reduce the amount of sugar listed as I find it ridiculous to put cups of icing sugar into frosting. Really, no one needs that much sugar in their bloodstream (neither would their waistlines appreciate it). In this case, the mango would also contribute to the sweetness. The mango cubes on top were definitely my mom’s touch and you can definitely use that as a decoration of sorts if you’re eating them on the same day.

Guess there is a positive side to the heat after all: the abundance of mangoes. YAY!

Ma-ma-ma-mango!

Ma-ma-ma-mango!

Classic Vanilla Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream Frosting
Adapted from Taste.com.au

Makes a dozen

Cupcake ingredients:

100 g unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup caster sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1 1/3 cup self-raising flour
1/2 cup milk

Line a 12-hole muffin tin with cupcake liners. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
Cream the butter, caster sugar and vanilla extract until fluffy.
Beat in the eggs one by one until just combined.
Mix in the flour and milk in alternate batches and stir until just combined.
Fill the cupcake cases evenly with the batter and bake for 15 to 20 minutes.
Let cool completely in tin and remove.

Frosting ingredients:

75 g unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup icing mixture
1/2 mango, mashed
1/4 cup milk

Beat the butter and mango puree in a mixing bowl until it is light and fluffy.
Gradually add in the icing sugar and continue beating.
Add the milk and beat until well combined.
Frost the cupcakes!

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Classic Vanilla Cupcakes with Mango Buttercream Frosting

  1. a buck a mango?? thats ridiculously cheap, must go aldi to buy some.
    we were at the power farmers market and got 2 for 5 and have to pay close to 5 bucks for the uber huge ones.

  2. Oh wow!! these look great. I had a bit of a bake off recently and i would love to know what you think of the results 🙂
    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/08/27/to-your-posts-let-the-bake-off-begin/

  3. Lyle Glazer says:

    In your cupcake recipe it calls for 100 g of unsalted butter. What does g stand for? Does it mean grams? Same with the frosting. Does 75 g mean 75 grams? And how does that convert to Tablespoons?
    Please let me know. The recipe sounds yummy!
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

