Homemade Old Favourites Ice-Cream Cake

Homemade Old Favourites Ice-Cream Cake

Homemade Old Favourites Ice-Cream Cake

In Australia, there’s a chain of ice-cream stores called Cold Rock and its specialty is mixing together your favourite ice-cream with your favourite chocolate bar/s and fruits. Basically, they mash the ice-cream and chocolate/fruits together on an ice-cold stone and once it’s all beautifully melded together, you have your dream combination. But this isn’t an advertorial for them, so I’ll stop waxing lyrical about how they make your crazy, sweet dreams come true.

Mmm, Oreos!

Mmm, Oreos!

Anyway, this dessert is like having Cold Rock in your own home, but made a little in advance. You can still customise it the way you like it, but you can feed more people! When I thought about putting this dessert together for a best friend’s farewell party, it had been a warm few days (can you tell that I dislike the heat?) so if it’s hot where you are, this will be great. I didn’t really bother with recipes and stuck with old favourites for this ice-cream cake.

Vanilla ice-cream + Violet Crumble layer

Vanilla ice-cream + Violet Crumble layer

Here’s what you need to know:

It might’ve taken me about 10 to 15 minutes to put together.

Everyone at the party might’ve said it was good.

Another friend might’ve even given it a ten out of ten.

And they all had fun guessing what was in it!

Chocolate + Chokito layer going on!

Chocolate + Chokito layer going on!

If that doesn’t all agree with you, I don’t know what will! I did mention that it only takes about 10 to 15 minutes to assemble it, right? Use your favourite flavours of ice-cream and chocolate bars. What I chose was an Oreo biscuit layer, followed by vanilla ice-cream + Violet Crumble, chocolate ice-cream + Chokito, and finally cookies & cream ice-cream with chocolate chips. All you need after that is the patience to wait for it to set, which will take about 2 to 3 hours. Make dinner, eat dinner, play charades and then have your own homemade ice-cream cake, which is technically made from storebought ice-cream, but let’s not argue about technicalities here!

Final layer of cookies & cream with chocolate chips!

Final layer of cookies & cream with chocolate chips!

If the Oreo layer doesn’t seem to come together like the biscuit base of a cheesecake, don’t worry as it’ll set in the freezer anyway. By the way, if you do use Chokito, be warned that the caramel inside will harden so don’t just bite into it with much gusto or you might find that you’ve dislodged a tooth. Either that, or use another brand of chocolate. Heaven knows I certainly had trouble trying to restrain myself from reaching out towards a large bag of Maltesers, mmm! Now, as much as I love both, I’d suggest that you don’t pull out the big guns like Haagen-Dazs or Ben & Jerry’s for this. It’s meant to be a fun, laissez-faire dessert, like when you were a child and didn’t care where the chocolate was made, as long as it tasted like chocolate. 🙂

Here we go!

Inside layers of the cake!

Inside layers of the cake!

Homemade Old Favourites Ice-Cream Cake

  • 1 x 2 litre Nestle Peters Chocopolitan Ice-Cream, which has vanilla, chocolate and cookies & cream flavours (or buy your flavours of choice)
  • 2 large bars each of Violet Crumble OR Crunchie (weight doesn’t matter – how I wish that were true for me!)
  • 2 x large bars of Chokito
  • 2 handfuls of chocolate chips
  • 20 pieces of Oreos (about 1 1/2 foil packets)
  • 50 g of unsalted butter, melted
  1. Remove the ice-cream from the freezer (or your shopping bag!) and leave it to soften on the counter.
  2. Line an 8 inch baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  3. Place the Oreos in a ziplock bag and roughly crush them. Reserve a small handful which is then crushed finely.
  4. Mix the Oreos with the unsalted butter and press into the base of the tin.
  5. Break up the bars of Violet Crumble/Crunchie in a mixing bowl and combine these with the vanilla ice-cream. Once combined, layer this on top of the Oreo layer.
  6. Repeat step 5 by combining the chocolate ice-cream with the Chokito bars, and then the cookies & cream ice-cream with the chocolate chips. To reduce mess, mix the chocolate ice-cream in the mixing bowl used in step 5, then mix the cookies & cream ice-cream in the container itself.
  7. Top with fine Oreo crumbs and any leftover chocolate chips.
  8. Cover the tin with foil and put it in the freezer for at least 2 hours.
  9. Slice and serve.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Old Favourites Ice-Cream Cake

  1. liztesar says:

    Oh my gosh – this looks AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

