Chicken, Bacon & Sundried Tomato ‘Parcels’

Chicken, Bacon & Sundried Tomato 'Parcels'

Chicken, Bacon & Sundried Tomato 'Parcels'

This is a lazy meal.

Okay, if you haven’t closed this window, you may proceed!

Butter makes everything better

Butter makes everything better

Buy four large chicken fillets (breast, thigh or mystery part);
four slices of cheese which will melt beautifully;
four slices of middle bacon;
wooden skewers or satay sticks;
and a small packet/jar of sundried tomatoes.

Time to wrap it up!

Time to wrap it up!

Oh, and butter, if you don’t have any in the fridge.
But you should.
Because butter is… well, butter.

And that’s it.
Everything you need for four awesome chicken parcels.
Make some mash,
steam some greens (technically, corn on a cob is yellow but I always make an exception for corn – however that works),
and that’s dinner.

Bacon - what would we do without it?

Bacon - what would we do without it?

Oh, for the love of laziness!

Chicken, Bacon & Sundried Tomato ‘Parcels’

  • 4 chicken fillets
  • 4 slices of cheese
  • 4 slices of middle bacon
  • 8 pieces of sundried tomatoes
  • 2 tsp butter
  • 4 wooden skewers/satay sticks
  • salt and pepper
  1. Season the chicken fillets with salt and pepper.
  2. Heat the butter in a pan and fry the chicken fillets for about 3 minutes per side. Don’t worry if it’s not fully cooked as it will go into the oven. Remove to plate to cool slightly.
  3. Optional: Fry the bacon in a hot pan for about a minute per side and remove.
  4. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius and line a baking tray with foil.
  5. On the uneven side of one fillet where it’s been deboned, place 2 pieces of sundried tomato and a slice of cheese (which you can tear to fit).
  6. Roll this up and wrap it with a slice of bacon. Hold this together by piercing it with a wooden skewer.
  7. Repeat with the rest of the chicken fillets.
  8. Roast in the oven for about 20 to 25 minutes, turning the tray halfway through roasting time.
  9. Remove from oven and serve immediately.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

