Dark and White Chocolate Coated Strawberries

Dark and White Chocolate Coated Strawberries

Dark and White Chocolate Coated Strawberries

Strawberries are my favourite fruit and sadly, I’m definitely not not NOT the person to take with you when you go strawberry-picking. Or at least, don’t let me walk in front of you while I pick and munch on the best of them. Also, you shouldn’t expect me to pick many to take home; I’m too busy letting them get acquainted with my tastebuds and tummy.

Lack of self-control. Woe is me.

Dipping the strawberry into the melted chocolate

Dipping the strawberry into the melted chocolate

Now there are, of course, many ways to savour strawberries. They’re great in muffins (you can check out my recipe for strawberry marshmallow muffins here) and you can definitely use them to decorate cakes. Well, I think chocolate-coated strawberries are perfect for the warm weather, and they don’t take very long to make. Best of all, you can just nuke the chocolate in the microwave to speed things up! The only problem I had was working fast enough to coat the strawberries before the chocolate hardened. Well, no, actually, it probably was trying not eat them all. My chocolate coating session turned into a bit of an impromptu chocolate fondue party for one. Yay! I mean, oops!

Put them on the tray and in the fridge it goes (and not your mouth... yet)

Put them on the tray and in the fridge it goes (and not your mouth... yet)

I’m very much a dark chocolate person, but there is a general perception that white chocolate is the better partner of strawberries (perhaps it’s how white chocolate is always paired with berries in muffins?), and I think it’s true. There’s something about the sweetness and milky flavour in white chocolate that goes very well with the tang or ‘bite’ in fresh strawberries. However, I still couldn’t resist dark chocolate, so I decided to make both. The general consensus was that the white chocolate ones were better, but you can try them out and see for yourself!

Up close and personal (with your tummy)!

Up close and personal (with your tummy)!

Dark and White Chocolate Coated Strawberries

  • 200 g dark chocolate, broken into small pieces
  • 200 g white chocolate, broken into small pieces
  • 600 g strawberries, washed
  1. Line a tray with baking paper or greaseproof paper.
  2. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt one type of chocolate in the microwave on 50% power for 2 minutes. If the chocolate is still not fully melted, give it a stir and put it back in the microwave on 50% power for about 20-second bursts until fully melted.
  3. Working quickly, coat half of the strawberries (but not the hulls!) with the melted chocolate and place them on the tray.
  4. Repeat steps 2 &3  with the other type of chocolate which you will need to melt in the microwave in a separate bowl.
  5. Place the tray in the fridge to chill. Remove onto plate before serving immediately.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

