Half and Half Warm Sweet Potato & Steak Salad

Half and Half Warm Sweet Potato & Steak Salad

Half and Half Warm Sweet Potato & Steak Salad

As much as I am a glutton and a bottomless pit (other people’s words that may ring true), I actually love salad. Of course, a bit of protein and nuts certainly wouldn’t hurt an extremely green bowl as I do love throwing things together that somehow seem to work. When my grandmother came to visit, I made a salad with pan-fried sweet potato cubes and she loved it so much that I hear she’s been recreating it at home. That certainly gives me great pleasure, knowing that she has something to remember me by.

Pan-fried sweet potato cubes

Pan-fried sweet potato cubes

A substantial salad like this makes for a good dinner-for-one and it leaves you feeling satisfied. Of course, it makes sitting in front of the telly too easy since I jab at it with my fork while my eyes are glued to the screen. What can I say? Sweet potato salad for the couch potato! The reason why this salad is half and half is because I combined equal amounts of aioli with non-fat Greek yogurt and added a little bit of seasoning for a creamy dressing that is essentially healthier but tastes just as good. There’s a soft-boiled egg thrown in there as well for maximum goodness. Who says you have to sacrifice taste for nutritional gain? Throw that old adage out the window, thanks!

Time to toss!

Time to toss!

I’m not pedantic about what you put in the salad, really. I hardly ever follow recipes for salads anyway, unless I’m being an absolute stickler and would like to eat a classic Caesar salad, but that hardly ever happens with me and my mother in kitchen – our Caesar salad always ends up with cashew nuts or macadamias, and absolutely no anchovies (even though I wouldn’t mind some!). So if you like, you can follow it to the last grind of pepper, or you can use this as an idea board and make your own adaptations.

Onto the rabbit food that doesn’t taste like rabbit food!

Mmm runny yolk - one of the best things in life?

Mmm runny yolk - one of the best things in life?

Half and Half Warm Sweet Potato & Steak Salad

serves one, or as sides for four

  • 1 sweet potato (about the size of your palm), chopped into cubes
  • 1 sandwich or skirt steak, grilled and sliced
  • 60 grams of mixed leaves or baby spinach leaves, washed and dried
  • 1 egg, soft-boiled *
  • 1 1/2 tbsp aioli
  • 1 1/2 tbsp no-fat Greek yoghurt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tomatoes, cut into one-eighths
  • 50 g camembert or brie, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil in a pan and add in the sweet potato cubes. Season with salt and pepper, and fry on medium heat until brown and the surface of the cubes becomes gritty.
Combine the aioli and Greek yoghurt in a small bowl and season with salt and pepper.
Mix the salad leaves, sweet potato cubes, tomatoes, steak pieces and camembert in the serving bowl.
Pour on the aioli dressing and crack the egg on top. Serve immediately.

* I have one of these simple cookers, but you can use the stovetop method here.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes, Salads, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Half and Half Warm Sweet Potato & Steak Salad

  1. Jo says:

    SWEET POTATO YUMMERS!

Leave a Reply

