Cheesy French Toast with Nutella & Strawberries

Cheesy French Toast with Nutella & Strawberries

Cheesy French Toast with Nutella & Strawberries

For someone who loves chocolate so much, I actually discovered Nutella rather late in life when I was fifteen and started school in Australia. I think that’s what happens when you’re the only chocoholic in the family. I believe I am still making up for those years that I went without. Nutella is so iconic that it has a whole day dedicated to it (5th February, if you’re wondering) but you could probably get away with celebrating its existence every day if you like.

And then I pretty much forgot to take photos. Fail!

And then I pretty much forgot to take photos. Fail!

There’s something about bread soaked in egg and pan-fried in butter that I believe no one should be able to resist, even those who don’t like eggs (really, why wouldn’t you?), so yes, I do wholeheartedly love French toast. Now I don’t know about anyone else, but I think Nutella is delicious with it. That chocolate and hazelnut goodness (try to limit yourself to half a jar) and strawberries? Perfect, perfect.

Stacks of French toast, yum!

Stacks of French toast, yum!

French toast is probably one of those things that everyone learns early on to make, but I’m sharing this recipe anyway because you can only make it better with cheese. Naturally, the slice of cheese melts in the middle between the hot pieces of bread for maximum cheesyliciousness, which is only further exacerbated by dollops of Nutella and fresh strawberries. For presentation’s sake, you could even sift over some icing sugar, but I was simply hankering for a bite, and then promptly forgot about ‘presentation’s sake’. Yeah, that’s how I roll. And I hope that your GP won’t hate me forever for suggesting that you go all out with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. Or whipped cream. Or mascarpone.

Perhaps it’s high time for me to get on with the recipe.

Cheesy French Toast with Nutella & Strawberries

serves four

  • 8 slices of bread
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 slices of cheese
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 2 tbsp of brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • to serve: (in)sane amounts of Nutella and fresh strawberries (washed and hulled)
  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, sugar, salt and vanilla essence.
  2. Heat the butter in a pan on medium heat.
  3. Soak a slice of bread in the egg mixture, flipping the piece around so that it is absorbed (about 8 seconds of each side). Don’t leave it for too long or the bread will ‘disintegrate’. Put the slice of bread in the pan to start frying.
  4. Repeat step three with another slice of bread.
  5. Once both pieces are adequately brown to your liking, flip the pieces around.
  6. Place one slice of cheese on top of one of the pieces of bread. Check that both pieces of bread are brown at the bottom before putting the other piece of bread on top of the piece with the cheese (and I hope that this makes sense), thus sandwiching them, and remove this from the pan.
  7. Repeat with the rest of the bread and cheese until all are fried.
  8. Serve with jars dollops of Nutella and strawberries. Sift over icing sugar, if you wish.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheesy French Toast with Nutella & Strawberries

  1. Pingback: Tummy Tuesday: Late Breakfast « EyeWonTell

Leave a Reply

