Vegan Chocolate Avocado Cake with Non-Vegan Condensed Milk Frosting

Vegan Chocolate Avocado Cake with Non-Vegan Condensed Milk Frosting

Vegan Chocolate Avocado Cake with Non-Vegan Condensed Milk Frosting

You know, all I really wanna rant about is a certain driver of a Land Rover that didn’t pull his handbrake and left a dent in my car, but I’m gonna talk about chocolate instead. I have a feeling that I’m really in need of happy endorphins versus continuous rumination of what could’ve happened which just sends my blood pressure through the roof.

Okay. So the all-wonderful chocolate! *cue trained seals clapping away*

Vegan chocolate avocado cake

Vegan chocolate avocado cake

I’ll be the first to admit that chocolate and avocado are an unlikely combination – even after Skye from Masterchef Australia made a mousse out of it that has had rave reviews – and this is coming from the girl who used to eat avocado with milk and sugar in boarding school. Of course, this way of eating avo originates from my mom, and I stand by how it’s delicious. But then a friend did one better when she told me that she and her housemates eat avocado with lashings of condensed milk.

Brilliant idea, that! And then I combined the two into a cake. Say what?!

(By the way, if you’re feeling a bit revolted right now, I’m going to assume that you’re either an avocado hater or have it strictly savoury. If you’re part of the former group, I suppose this is where we part ways. BUT if you belong to the latter group, please believe me when I say you’re missing out and you need to try it sweet!)

One layer of frosting, and two to go!

One layer of frosting, and two to go!

The recipe for the vegan chocolate avocado cake was found on Joy The Baker’s so if you have a lot of faith in her, I believe that you are now breathing a sigh of relief. Visit the link for the recipe! It’s a very light, not-too-sweet and deliciously moist chocolate cake that is vegan, so there’s no dairy or eggs involved. I lopped off the cracked tops, which I’m beginning to think are signature of whatever multi-layered cakes I attempt, gah! She also included a recipe for a vegan avocado buttercream frosting (it’s Martian green!), but I did think there was a bit too much avocado involved. And so I made a very non-vegan butter-based frosting flavoured with sweetened condensed milk. Funky? Probably. But definitely yummy too!

Mmmm, chocolate!

Mmmm, chocolate!

With daisy yellow frosting, it looked deceivingly like an incredibly normal chocolate cake with buttercream frosting, and it certainly was fun making friends guess what the secret ingredients were. Make a tiny game out of it. Go on, you know you want to!

That's a slice, right? Okay, maybe not.

That's a slice, right? Okay, maybe not.

Condensed Milk Frosting

Paired with Vegan Chocolate Avocado Cake

  • 200 grams unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 cup icing mixture
  1. Using a beater on the lowest setting, mix the butter and condensed milk until well blended.
  2. Sift in the icing sugar bit by bit and continue mixing on medium speed for 2 minutes.
  3. Put one chocolate cake layer on the stand and spread one-third of the frosting. Leave about 2 cm space from the edge as this will ooze out.
  4. Place the other layer on top and lightly press it down. Spread another third of the frosting on top, and then use the rest to coat the sides of the cake.
  5. Decorate however you wish (I used silver cachous).
  6. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours before slicing and eating.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

