Sweet Tomato Sauce Pasta

Sweet Tomato Pasta

Sweet Tomato Pasta

I probably wasn’t really thinking when I made this. You know what it’s like, right? There’s an idea: upon examining the fridge, you discover chorizo and some minced meat. Oh, let’s make pasta, since there’s only two of us. Chop up some garlic, tomatoes and thyme. Heat the oil and one by one, the ingredients meet the oil in the pan. Next thing, you know, I’ve gone and done it.

I’ve added in quite a bit of tomato sauce.

Lazy ingredients. Or just lazy person cooking with them.

Lazy ingredients. Or just lazy person cooking with them.

Wait, wait, wait, there’s a reason behind this! My dad taught me that tomato sauce or ketchup will never be out of place in a tomato-based pasta sauce. But what do you know? He might just be right!

This pasta sauce is more on the sweet side – hence the name – and you should make it when you don’t have a bottle of your favourite pasta sauce on hand, and the bag of tomatoes that were on special are at risk of being so frozen that you could accidentally kill your cat if you lobbed it at her. Or you could just make it ’cause you want a bowl of sweet tomato pasta.

My rationale evades me sometimes.

Conjuring up pasta sauce.

Conjuring up pasta sauce.

Ditch the meat, or toss in whatever you have. Deglaze with a bit of wine or sober up for the night. Dump on a truckload of cheese if that rocks your boat, and you’re good to go. And hey, look, three sentences that started with the letter ‘D’. Because I make weird observations like that.

Sweet Tomato Pasta

serves two

  • 200 g any type of pasta
  • 200 g minced meat
  • 1x 400 g can of chopped tomatoes, or 5 fresh tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 chorizo, sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • a dash of red wine (optional)
  • 3 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp chilli sauce
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 sprigs of thyme, chopped or 1 tsp dried thyme
  • a small handful of basil leaves, chopped or 1 tsp dried basil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • to serve: grated Parmesan cheese, fresh parsley

Boil the pasta according to the packet directions in salted water until al dente. Drain and pour into serving bowl.
Heat the olive oil in a pot and fry the chorizo and minced meat for 2 minutes or until cooked through. Add in garlic and stir for a minute.
If using, deglaze with the red wine, then put in the chopped tomatoes and herbs.
Add in the tomato sauce and chilli sauce, and cook until boiling.
Season with salt and pepper.
Pour the sauce into the pasta serving bowl and toss. Garnish with parsley and serve with grated cheese on the side.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

