Braised Soy Sauce Chicken

Braised Soy Sauce Chicken

Braised Soy Sauce Chicken

I don’t like replicating dishes that my mom cooks (and she cooks them really well, might I add), and I usually tend to avoid making Asian food, but this braised chicken turned out pretty good. My brother and I were actually thinking about having a more Chinese-style roast chicken with a soy sauce dressing, but I ended up making this. That’s probably good because I didn’t have much time to prepare at all; by the time I managed to pry myself away from The Sims Social to prepare everything, it was already 4:30 pm and we had friends who were coming over for dinner at 6 pm.

Yes, The Sims Social is making me less sociable. The irony!

Braising liquid

Braising liquid

This dish is fairly simple and healthy, and if you’ve been ordering it in restaurants (or my uni refectory!), you should try replicating it at home. It can be made quickly, since you don’t really need to prepare a marinade, and it pretty much cooks itself, besides turning the chicken pieces around in the pot. Don’t forget to cook rice to soak up the gravy, which you shouldn’t be greedy with, as it really is quite salty. You can strain the rest of the gravy and keep it in the fridge to reuse again as braising liquid. Whilst it’s cooking, you can go ahead and get some vegetables ready for a quick stir-fry and before you know it, it’s a complete meal that will please the food guide pyramid.

Oh yeah, I definitely learnt something in all those years at school!

Ignore the deformed egg in the middle, thank you

Ignore the deformed egg in the middle, thank you

Braised Soy Sauce Chicken
Adapted from Rasa Malaysia and My Kitchen Snippets

Serves four

  • 4 pieces of chicken Maryland
  • 4 eggs, hard-boiled, peeled and halved
  • to serve: cooked rice and stir-fried veges for all

Sauce Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of soy sauce
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup of Shao xing cooking wine
  • 1/4 cup of Chinese rose cooking wine
  • 1/4 cup of Cheong Chan cooking caramel
  • 1/2 cup of rock sugar
  • 2 sprigs of spring onion, sliced into 3-inch lengths
  • 2-inch piece of ginger, peeled sliced
  • 5 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed
  • 2 pieces of dried longan
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 3 star anise
  • 7 black pepper seeds
  • a dash of sesame oil
  1. Heat all the ingredients for the sauce in a pot or wok until boiling, then turn down the heat to simmer the sauce for another 5 minutes.
  2. Add in the chicken Maryland pieces and cook on medium heat for 20 minutes. Flip the chicken pieces over and then continue cooking for another 20 minutes.
  3. Turn off the heat, and leave the pot on the stove for another 5 minutes, covered.
  4. Ladle chicken pieces and gravy onto serving dish. Put the eggs on another deep platter and pour some of the sauce on.
  5. Serve with rice and stir-fried veges immediately.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

