Strawberry Marshmallow Muffins

Strawberry Marshmallow Muffins

Strawberry Marshmallow Muffins

Strawberries are my favourite fruit, and since the season for them is ending soon, I have my excuse for buying as many punnets as my little heart desires. Conveniently, they’re sold almost everywhere at $4 for 500 grams, which is affordable enough. Since half my family isn’t around at the moment, I’ve been baking stuff that is easier to share, like these muffins. They remind me so much of my favourite cafe in my alma mater, which makes delicious muffins in a tiny oven perfectly positioned to tempt passers-by. And of course, there’s no scent on earth quite like freshly baked goods, now is there?

Chop chop!

Chop chop!

This recipe makes 12 gigantic muffins that are filled to the brim for that dome-shaped top which I consider to be a signature of muffins. They’re filled with chopped up strawberries and a marshmallow in the centre, which gives them an added bit of sweetness and flavour once they melt in the oven, so the batter itself is made with less sugar. If you’re not a fan of strawberries, you can also switch to fresh or frozen blueberries and raspberries. That, and if you’re lazy to do the chopping – it’s okay, no one is going to find fault with that!

If they do, that’s okay too. MORE MUFFINS FOR YOU!

Marshmallow surprise!

Marshmallow surprise!

Strawberry Marshmallow Muffins
Adapted from this recipe in Taste.com.au

  • 2 3/4 cups self-raising flour
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp raw sugar
  • 250g strawberries, chopped roughly
  • 12 marshmallows (flavour of your choice)
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/4 cups buttermilk
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla essence
  1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius and grease a 12-hole muffin tin.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour and sugar. Stir in the strawberries.
  3. Make a well in the centre and pour in the buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla essence. Fold until just combined.
  4. Fill the muffin tin halfway with the batter. Pop a marshmallow into each hole and push it in.
  5. Top up with the rest of the batter.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes or until a skewer is inserted into centre and it comes out clean.
  7. Let cool in tin. Eat, eat, eat!
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Muffins, Recipes, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strawberry Marshmallow Muffins

  1. What awesome muffins, they are perfectly shaped. Strawberries are up there in my favourite fruits list… I think grapes just take it for me though 😀 I want to eat some of these, they must be sooooo yummy.

  2. Pingback: Dark and White Chocolate Coated Strawberries | eatnownownow

  3. mei-chan says:

    I’m planning to making that for my bday party 😀
    thanks loads for the recipe 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

