Warm Mixed Cabbage Salad

Warm Mixed Cabbage Salad

Warm Mixed Cabbage Salad

Despite belonging to a largely carnivorous household, I love my greens. I’m the type who happily munches on a salad for lunch, and I’ve been known to throw together crazy combinations, like cous cous and grilled fish marinated in a curry concoction, but I’m a firm believer that salad is just one of those things that isn’t bound by a specific list of ingredients or method of cooking. Well, there’s that, and there’s also the fact that I often feel the need to clear out the fridge and pantry.

Practicality wins.

Slurp and chomp!

Slurp and chomp!

I made this salad to use up some cabbage. This is a warm salad, and since it’s still cold in Brisbane, this is the right time to whip it up before the heat comes settling in. This salad is great if you are using the oven to make up the rest of your dinner because you don’t have to use extra electricity. Otherwise, you can heat up the dressing in a saucepan and toss the salad to make it warm. Perfect as a tangy side salad for most mains that are ‘drier’ like roast chicken or grilled fish. Forget the garden salad just this once (and maybe more)!

Warm Mixed Cabbage Salad
Adapted from this recipe by The Australian Gourmet Traveller

  • 1/4 head of red cabbage
  • 1/4 head of green cabbage
  • 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • a dash of red wine (optional)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • black pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.
  2. Shred the cabbages into long, thin strips and put these into a baking dish.
  3. Mix together the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, red wine, brown sugar, salt and black pepper in a bowl and pour over the cabbage.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes and remove from oven. Serve with mains.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Salads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

