Vietnamese-Inspired BBQ Pork Chops

Vietnamese-Inspired Pork Chops

Vietnamese-Inspired Pork Chops

My cousin and I used to live with a Vietnamese housemate when we were in uni. Whilst she didn’t cook very often, she would make these pork chops that would smell so good as it wafted through our entire unit. Believe me when I say it was hard not to salivate, and there was nowhere to run since we lived in a tiny, tiny apartment. It wasn’t long before I questioned what in the world was taking over my senses with that crazily delicious aroma (in a good way).

Marinate and refrigerate

Marinate and refrigerate

Turns out that the secret ingredient is fish sauce. I know, how could I not have known? But of course, back then, I didn’t know much about food at all, simply what tasted good and what didn’t. I’ve put in a lot more effort to learn about food from other cultures, and I think it’s definitely a good learning curve to battle, albeit one that makes me constantly hungry. What can I say? I’ll blame it on my education.

BBQ them good!

BBQ them good!

I made these for a BBQ over the weekend but you can certainly pan-fry or grill these pork chops. The thought did cross my mind that raw sugar would be enough, but I wanted to try something different, so I used palm sugar for a more caramelised taste. Can’t say that these are exactly Vietnamese or anything, hence the ‘inspired’ label, but it certainly was a fond reminder of those grilled pork chop + broken rice (Cơm tấm) sets at my favourite Vietnamese eateries. I might even buy some broken rice next time to go with these!

Good porky protein

Good porky protein

Vietnamese-Inspired BBQ Pork Chops

Serves four

  • 4 pork chops
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp fish sauce
  • 1 tbsp palm sugar, mashed
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  1. Combine everything in a bowl and poke the pork chops with the tip of a sharp knife to make sure the marinade is absorbed well.
  2. Cover with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least four hours or overnight.
  3. Heat a teaspoon of oil on your hot plate or pan, or lightly coat with baking spray. When hot, add the pork chops and cook for about 3 to 4 minutes on each side.
  4. Serve immediately with your choice of carbs and greens.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

