Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cupcakes

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cupcakes

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cupcakes

Nigella Lawson is all kinds of gorgeous and if I didn’t know better, I’d say that her diet of copious amounts of butter and chocolate has to be good. I mean, look at her! I love watching her cook; that woman has got a certain money-can’t-buy magic about her that makes her pretty darn irresistible. I’m the type who is lazy loves easy recipes, so I had to try my hand at her old-fashioned chocolate cake, which she all but blitzes in her food processor and pours into baking tins. Of course, she does none of the washing up and as someone commented on Youtube, ‘while she’s waiting for a chocolate cake to bake she dives into a box of chocolates’.

Epic.

Blitz, blitz, blitz!

Blitz, blitz, blitz!

I didn’t quite feel like the whole ‘baking in two tins, stacking and frosting’ though. Instead, I wanted to enjoy a cupcake I could dig my teeth in whilst get frosting all over my nose. The thing about cupcakes is I don’t like frosting that’s so sweet it makes my teeth shudder, so I stuck to her original recipe for the cake (barring a few changes in instructions) and I just used a microwave-safe bowl to make the frosting instead of having to wash the food processor again. Also, I changed the amount of sugar in the frosting. After all, good dark chocolate stands alone just fine – no need to give your dentist (and GP!) nightmares.

Do not eat the batter. Do not eat the batter. Do not eat the batter.

Do not eat the batter. Do not eat the batter. Do not eat the batter.

For those who own food processors, we need to have a toast as to how lucky we are. And then you are to remove them from whatever cupboard you’ve hidden them in and make these. For those who don’t, get your beater out and cream that butter. The rest of the ingredients is a matter of mixing them in. For those without a beater, grab a wooden spoon and a muscly man and put him to work, failing which you will put in the elbow grease yourself, because chocolate cupcakes are well-worth it. So say me and Nigella (I think)!

Needs frosting - do not eat yummy freshly baked chocolate cupcakes! No, really.

Needs frosting - do not eat yummy freshly baked chocolate cupcakes! No, really.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cupcakes
Adapted from Nigella Lawson’s old-fashioned chocolate cake recipe

Cake ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 160 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 eggs
  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius. Line a 12-hole muffin tin with cupcake liners.
  2. Cream butter, sugar and vanilla essence in the food processor until fluffy.
  3. Add in sour cream, cocoa powder and eggs and mix well. Don’t forget to scrape down the sides of the food processor with a spatula.
  4. Pour in flour, baking powder and baking soda and pulse until well-combined.
  5. Divide evenly into cupcake liners (about 3/4 full). Slam the muffin tin on your kitchen bench several times to get rid of air pockets.
  6. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes and test with skewer, which should emerge clean.
  7. Remove from oven and let cool completely in tin.

Frosting ingredients

  • 170 g dark chocolate
  • 90 g unsalted butter, chopped into cubes
  • 1 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/3 cup icing sugar
  1. Melt the dark chocolate carefully in the microwave (about 2 minutes on 50% power), stirring halfway through heating time.
  2. Stir in the butter cubes until melted.
  3. Add in the golden syrup, vanilla essence and sour cream and combine.
  4. Sift in the icing sugar and mix well.
  5. Frost the cupcakes and lick the bowl!
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cupcakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. To be honest… she is getting a little on the chubby side these days – but she is gorgeous :P. She does make some seriously good recipe and food though! these look simply simply amazing!

    • saphster says:

      Really? She appeared on Masterchef Australia looking absolutely radiant and.. yes, gorgeous. 😀 Haha! The cake itself is really fluffy – she is a genius indeed!

Leave a Reply

