Turkey Breakfast Patties or Meatballs

Turkey Breakfast Patty

Turkey Breakfast Patty

Australia has its own Father’s (Fathers’?) Day here, which was last Sunday, and I stumbled out of bed to prepare breakfast for the family. I had the idea of making turkey breakfast patties since we had turkey mince and there were a few things I could throw in. I was thinking about the McDonald’s sausage patty when I made this, because there are some mornings when that’s all I think about. And that’s probably a very bad statement from a self-confessed foodie!

Shape those patties!

Shape those patties!

Okay, so maybe breakfast won’t merely appear in 2 minutes simply because you ask for a ‘sausage and egg McMuffin McValue meal’ but given a bit of time and patience, you can follow this recipe and make your own breakfast, with the added satisfaction of knowing you did it all on your own. The good thing about making your own is that you get to choose what meat you’d like to put in, how much oil you use to fry up the patty, extra flavours and herbs, and what-have-you. Customisable patties are the way to go, baby.

Chopped up bread pieces

Chopped up bread pieces

I added in a chopped up chorizo for a bit of a salty and spicy hit. Actually, I didn’t really do research into how the patty ‘works’, but it’s probably good to let the bread soak up a bit of the milk and egg mixture to soften it up, much like a French toast sort of manner. I used day-old baguette (… okay, so maybe they were a couple of days old!) which has a thicker crust than just regular white bread, so I soaked it for a bit longer. And of course, the mince can also be formed into any shape you like, which is fun for kids. You can even make meatballs which would be nice if you dusted them with flour, pan-fried, then cooked them further in your choice of sauce. YUM!

Fry up!

Fry up!

You can form the patties and leave them in the fridge overnight, if you want to get the work out of the way. In classic fry-up style, you can pair this with toasted bread or English muffins, baked beans, eggs, mushrooms, bacon and any other usual suspects I might have forgotten to list. Forget the Maccas run; make this for a lovely breakfast over the weekend!

Good use of tomato sauce. Word.

Good use of tomato sauce. Word.

Turkey Breakfast Patties or Meatballs

Makes about 8 patties

  • 500 g minced turkey
  • 2 slices of bread, chopped
  • 1 chorizo, chopped into bits
  • 3 sprigs of thyme
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • to fry: approximately 4 tbsp oil
  1. Combine the eggs, milk, garlic, mustard powder, thyme, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Throw in the bread pieces and let it soak for a few minutes.
  2. Add in the turkey mince, chorizo bits, onion and thyme. Get your kitchen elf to mix that well.
  3. On a large A4 sized sheet of baking paper, scoop out about 3 to 3 1/2 tablespoons of mince to form a patty and repeat thrice to make four patties.
  4. Repeat step 3 on another sheet of baking paper.
  5. Cut squares of the baking paper surrounding your patty.
  6. Heat oil (about 1/2 tbsp oil per patty) in a pan. Grab one of the patty squares and put it in the pan, meat side down. Remove the baking paper and fry the patties for about 4 minutes before flipping and letting it cook for the same amount of time on the other side. Depending on the size of your pan, you may fry these in several batches.
  7. Remove from pan and keep warm until ready to serve.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Mains, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

