Tres Leches Cake (Three Milks Cake)

Tres Leches Cake (Three Milks Cake)

Tres Leches Cake (Three Milks Cake)

The first time I came across this cake was while watching Junior Masterchef, and I thought that even the name sounded delectable! Tres Leches literally translates to ‘three milks’ and for a dairy lover like me, this is an irresistible idea. Obviously, this is not the dessert to serve a lactose intolerant! In continuation from my last post, I made this for the tapas night, of which I really tried to maintain a Spanish theme. And yes, I’m fairly sure that this isn’t a Spanish dessert of sorts; but it was the next best thing since we don’t own a deep fryer to make churros or leche frita. Now I’m wondering if Spanish women are fat!

First step: butter cake

First step: butter cake

Back to the cake! The first step is to make the butter cake batter, which is far too easy for those with a food processor since all you need to do is add in ingredient after ingredient and then pour it into a pan. Once it is baked, you let it cool (which is harder than the first step, naturally, since the smell will be wafting around your entire house!). Then feel free to wield a fork and carelessly poke the cake all over right through the bottom. If you think I’m joking, I’m not. You can put a face to it as well – don’t worry, nobody will know.

Second step: milky-licious

Second step: milky-licious

The next step is to drench this baby in its name; that is a mixture of three types of milk: condensed milk, evaporated milk and full-cream milk. I know, it sounds strange and wrong, but that’s how this works. Believe me. Or at least have some faith in the milk! Oh, by the way, it’s not milky enough yet, because on goes a layer of sweetened whipped cream. Don’t worry, you can whip the cream by hand if you feel the need to get some exercise in. Can’t say I indulged that whim. At all. Not for a second.

Third step: cream!

Third step: cream!

The cake is left to fully set in the fridge and sliced to be served cold. For those who are wondering, it is gloriously moist, and not soggy. This is definitely for those who don’t like a dry and perhaps overly crumbly cake. Wait, that’s nobody, right? It’d better be!

Oh, sweet mother of milk.

Oh, sweet mother of milk.

Tres Leches Cake (Three Milks Cake)
Adapted from Stephanie’s recipe on Allrecipes.com

  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 115 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 cups full cream milk
  • 1 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 150 ml thickened cream
  • 1/4 cup icing sugar
  • to serve: grated chocolate or chocolate powder (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius. Grease and flour a 13 x 9 pan.
  2. Sift flour and baking powder together in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Cream butter, sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract together until fluffy. Add the eggs one by one and beat well.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture 2 tablespoons at a time; mix until well blended (or pulse, if using food processor). Pour batter into prepared pan.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool.
  6. Use a fork to pierce the cake all over.
  7. Combine the milk, condensed milk, and evaporated milk in a jug and pour over the top of the cake. Wait till this absorbs fully.
  8. Using a beater or by hand, whip the thickened cream, icing sugar, and the remaining teaspoon of vanilla extract together in a mixing bowl until thick. Spread over the top of cake. If using, top with grated chocolate or chocolate powder.
  9. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours before slicing and serving.
About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

