Sam’s Banana Cake

Sam's Banana Cake

Sam's Banana Cake

I have a great love for England. When I was 18, I went to London to visit my older brother and I had a wonderful time exploring the city, slathering sinful amounts of butter on toasted slices of Soreen malt loaf and holey crumpets for breakfast, watching plays (Les Miserables, Woman in Black and Phantom of the Opera), having the best roast duck at Four Seasons and dim sum at another restaurant in Bayswater, dousing my fish and chips in malt vinegar, high tea at Fortnum and Mason, slurping down a warm Kinder Bueno milkshake at Greenwich, and taking the trains everywhere. To think I did all that and all my brother got in return was someone who did his laundry and ironing (and even then I managed to get the washing powder all over his clothes the first time around, woops)!

Freshly baked banana cake

Freshly baked banana cake! And believe it or not, those lumps on the surface were intentional.

I met an English classmate during a particularly boring and tedious class in uni, and once we got to talking, it was awesome to be able to share with someone that love for London, banoffee pie and Soreen malt loaf, although I think I never quite understood his fascination with PG Tips tea. I also learnt about the iconic Terry’s Chocolate Orange from Sam. I think we both felt like we hit jackpot when my local Woolworths started stocking Soreen malt loaf and I bought some for him as well to tide him over until his supermarket began to sell them too.

Batter ready to bake

Batter ready to bake

Anyway, one of Sam’s many talents is baking, and besides making me the best banoffee pie on my birthday last year with shavings of chilli chocolate, he has shared with me his amazing recipe for banana cake. Now I’m not the only one who can attest to the wonders of his banana cake, which is deliciously rich and moist with that yummy banana flavour. It is also remarkably easy to make, and his only instruction was to mix the heck out of everything. Really, I did it with a fork! The first time I brought some of this cake home for Mom, she thought it was really good, with possibly enough bananas in it to feed five monkeys. In reality, there were only two and a half bananas! But in Sam’s words, ‘the key is the bananas being ripe as hell though to, the point of nearly being mouldy’.

A fork is all you need to mix this together!

A fork is all you need to mix this together!

There’s quite a bit of butter involved, as well as a mountain of brown sugar. At first, I was alarmed, and then I realised that the health freak in me does not care because it really is THAT earth-movingly delicious. The funny thing is how people often joke about how English food is boring; but with Nigella, Jamie, Heston and my wonderful friend, Sam, I don’t know what they’re talking about. The English are definitely doing something right!

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

Sam’s Banana Cake
Thanks to my friend, Sam!

2 1/2 very ripe bananas, mashed
200 g reduced salt butter, melted (or use half unsalted, half salted) + extra for greasing
1 3/4 cups self-raising flour
2 eggs
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup raw sugar
a liberal splash of maple syrup (or maple-flavoured syrup)

Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius and grease and line a 9-inch cake tin.
Mix everything together in a large bowl.
Pour the batter into the cake tin and bake for 40 minutes. Poke the cake in multiple spots with a knife halfway through the baking time to make sure that the heat is getting through.
Remove from oven and let cool before slicing.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sam’s Banana Cake

  1. Sam says:

    Thanks Sapph. I’m completely honoured and flattered to be mentioned on here. No thanks necessary – just give me a mention in your future cook-book. 🙂

    (“Ladyfingers and Tohs” just randomly popped into my head as a possible name …)

  2. saphster says:

    Hahah, I shall if I ever write one! 😉 And the recipe is excellent, so thank you for sharing it with me (and everyone else here!)

  3. Amazing photos and a great recipe. I’m from Britain but I’m afraid I can’t share your love for London. It’s ok in short bursts, but it is EXTREMELY expensive and I can’t abide all the hustle and bustle or the tube… I hate the tube…

    • saphster says:

      Thank you! I actually pulled out the big guns for these photos (well, it’s a Canon Rebel or something or other; I’m afraid my knowledge of photography is mediocre at best!). 🙂

      You’re right; London is very expensive indeed. I think my brother realised that when he checked his bank account since he gave me free rein with his ATM card, although in my defence, it was probably those tickets we bought to see Phantom that really killed it! The tube did feel a bit dingy but it’s so convenient! 😀

Leave a Reply

