Racheal’s Ooey Gooey Brownies

Racheal's Ooey Gooey Brownies

Racheal's Ooey Gooey Brownies

As a chocoholic, it’s hard to resist the temptation of good ol’ chocolate brownies. Strangely enough though, I’m not the one who first attempted to make them in my house: that honour belongs to my brother who is turning 21 today (happy birthday, Jeremy! :)). We had an early birthday celebration for him last Saturday and for one of our dessert options (of course there was more than one!), I chose a recipe from our cousin, Racheal’s Ooey Gooey Brownies.

The road to chocolate brownie heaven

The road to chocolate brownie heaven

The first time I made these, I thought that they were fudging brilliant, but I wondered if it was meant to be THAT fudgy, even after a substantially longer baking time. Of course, I was in chocolate heaven, so my senses told me not to question a good thing. Later, I realised that I had made the silliest mistake of using a square brownie pan that was too small. Duh, no wonder they weren’t entirely cooked through and tasted a bit like oh-so-good brownie batter! But don’t worry, I’ve rectified that delicious mistake (which wasn’t much of a mistake)!

Yummy chocolate brownie pieces

Yummy chocolate brownie squares

These brownies…. well, what can I say? The name speaks for itself! Classically good and fudgy, these should come with a warning sign, simply because they’re way too easy to make (and eat, naturally). Forget a double boiler; technology has given us a microwave for a reason! It’s so good that one of Jeremy’s friends sat in front of the platter and popped them into his mouth throughout the party. In fact, I’m pretty sure if we had let him, he would’ve put them in his pocket and taken them home! So consider yourselves well-informed individuals – and if you aren’t already pulling the ingredients out of your pantry, you should be.

Dusted and ready!

Dusted and ready!

Racheal’s Ooey Gooey Brownies
Thanks to my cousin, Racheal for her recipe!

  • 150 g dark chocolate, broken up into small pieces
  • 125 g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • to serve: 3 tbsp icing sugar

Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius.
Grease and dust a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with cocoa powder or use baking paper to line the pan.
Melt the dark chocolate and butter at 50% power in the microwave for about 2 to 3 minutes (stir halfway through heating time). Let cool to room temperature.
Whisk eggs and salt thoroughly in a mixing bowl.
Add in sugar and vanilla essence and continue whisking.
Fold in chocolate mix and chocolate chips, then gently fold in the flour.
Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.
Let cool, then slice into desired portions.
Dust with icing sugar and serve (or hide).

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Racheal’s Ooey Gooey Brownies

  1. jaja says:

    hi! πŸ˜€ how many eggs did you put in? thanks! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

