Homemade Sour Cream and Spinach Dip

Homemade Sour Cream and Spinach Dip

Homemade Sour Cream and Spinach Dip

I don’t know about you, but I reckon a delicious dip matched with crackers easily makes for a good informal party, and it really is quite hard to go wrong with dip. Of course, I admit that I’m not much of a hardsell when it comes to parties, so long as there is food. It must be the Malaysian in me that believes all parties need food, even if it’s just nibbles!

So why not venture out just a little and make your own dip instead of buying the usual supermarket hummus and tzatziki? This sour cream and spinach dip is really flavourful and looks interesting with the specks of green spinach and chives poking through and a simple topping of toasted pine nuts. You can also serve this with grilled red meats like beef or lamb or even roasted potatoes.

Simple ingredients to make this dip!

Simple ingredients to make this dip!

It’s hard to find someone who isn’t inclined towards sour cream, so I’m guessing that this will be loved at any party, but for the haters, there’s always natural Greek yogurt. The best part is you don’t even need a mixer for this. Elbow grease? Practically optional! And the ingredients are easily sourced from any supermarket, with your choice of frozen or fresh spinach. This dip is an easy tick against any party checklist. Don’t forget the bragging rights; after all, the word ‘homemade’ carries a lot of weight!

Hand me the crackers already!

Hand me the crackers already!

Homemade Sour Cream and Spinach Dip

Makes about 3 cups of dip

  • 300 g sour cream
  • 250 g frozen chopped spinach (or 1 cup of fresh baby spinach, finely chopped)
  • 5 springs of fresh chives, sliced
  • 1/2 cup mayonaise
  • 2 tsp ground sea salt
  • 1.5 tsp garlic powder
  • 1.5 tsp mustard powder
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • To serve: 2 tbsp pine nuts, toasted

Thaw the frozen spinach according to the directions on the packet and drain using paper towels.
In a bowl, mix together all of the ingredients (except the pine nuts).
Taste and adjust the seasoning to your liking.
Cover with cling film and refrigerate for at least one hour.
Top with toasted pine nuts and serve with crackers.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Savoury Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Sour Cream and Spinach Dip

  1. Melissa says:

    I have never seen sour cream in a carton! Weird!

  2. Melissa says:

    Also, “If I had a bucket list, it’d consist of places that I’d like to dine at.” HAHAHA. That’s pretty much me too.

Leave a Reply

