Single serve spicy chocolate brownie.

One-serve spicy chocolate brownie

One-serve spicy chocolate brownie

I can’t quite remember when my love affair with chilli chocolates started but it was probably during one of my trips to the Eumundi Markets at Sunshine Coast. There’s a beautiful chocolatier there that handmakes and sells his own chocolates, which go by the name of Lief Chocolates. At first, I thought it was just my rusty tastebuds; and yet other Malaysians have tried them and attested to how spicy they are! They have such an unexpected kick that I really savour. Back then, you had to mail order them if you had quite a hankering for them in Brisbane, but one of the cafes in the Brisbane CBD, Chocolate Soldier now sells them by the piece so look out for those dark chocolate truffles with a tiny chilli painted on them!

Dark chocolate chilli truffle

Dark chocolate chilli truffle

Now onto my recipe! So I had a craving for a warm chocolate brownie or cake, but I decided to make an individual serve since my brother was already baking scones (the recipe of which I’ll hopefully get to share with you one day ’cause they’re brilliant!). Also, I was reminiscing about those chilli chocolates so I thought, why the hell not? These cakes are spicy with every bite, but you can omit the chilli (and cinnamon) if you’re not hyped about the combination. Precaution: this is a one-serve brownie, but none of my friends have successfully finished one by themselves, whereas I’ve always finished mine, and I’m left mournfully staring at my empty mug, wishing some more would miraculously appear – so perhaps it’s more of a Sapphira-serve. *rolls eyes* Admittedly, it is very rich, but if it’s some warm, extremely hearty chocolate you’re after, I can’t imagine anything better. Plus all it takes is a bit of scooping, stirring and popping it in the microwave for a minute.

If only all cravings were that easy to satisfy!

Scoop-stir-nuke-EAT!

Scoop-stir-nuke-EAT!

One-serve spicy chocolate brownie
Adapted from the mug brownie recipe

4 tbsp flour
3.5 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 tbsp water
a dash of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 tsp chilli powder (optional)
a dash of cinnamon (optional)

Pour all ingredients into a microwaveable mug and stir well. Make sure there are no lumps.
Microwave on high for 1 minute. If your microwave doesn’t heat very well, you may need to add 10 more seconds to the heating time. Note that this brownie will have a moist center.
Done! Add vanilla ice-cream or cream for maximum indulgence and hot-cold awesomeness.
Rejoice that you have satisfied your craving in less than 5 minutes.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Recipes, Sweet Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Single serve spicy chocolate brownie.

  1. this is awesome! I’m going to try it around 11pm tonight when all the shops are closed and i have a crazy craving!

    • saphster says:

      Haha, yes, you should! It’s my go-to recipe when I just can’t move my lazy bones and absolutely need something warm and chocolatey, especially since I’m the only chocoholic in my family!

Leave a Reply

