Thai Inspired Roasted Chicken Drumsticks

Thai Inspired Roasted Chicken Drumsticks

Thai Inspired Roasted Chicken Drumsticks

The name of this dish sounds a bit Masterchef-y, doesn’t it? That’s a little ironic, considering my mom picked a recipe out of the August issue of the Woolworths Fresh magazine for me to refer to. I’m a bit of a rebel when it comes to cooking mains like these, especially one that claims to be inspired by a specific cuisine – I don’t like sticking to the recipes. I tend to have a quick scan of the ingredients, get a grasp of what the flavours will be, and get cracking on the cooking without too many second thoughts. Usually, I will follow the prescribed method of cooking though, which is why I covered the drumsticks with foil during the first period of roasting.

Please excuse me if this marks the height of my sense of adventure.

Whilst I used chicken drumsticks, feel free to use chicken thighs or wings, but you should definitely stick to bone-in pieces. For those who like it spicy, I’ve included the option to include the staple of all chilli sauces: Sriracha. Depending on your preference, you can either remove the excess marinade and roast them dry, or with all the sauce which will produce a gravy of sorts that’s delicious when served with steamed rice. Instead, I pretended to be a Thai-born Southern belle and combined this with Southern creamy corn pudding and wedges of roasted pumpkins.

My inner meek rebel loves showing its (faded) colours.

Despite all that showiness, it was a tres funky and more-ish combination that I challenge your inner rebel to make it today. Oh, and don’t deny it; there’s one in all of us!

Thai inspired roasted chicken drumsticks, served with Southern creamy corn pudding & roasted pumpkin wedges

Thai inspired roasted chicken drumsticks, served with Southern creamy corn pudding & roasted pumpkin wedges

Thai Inspired Roasted Chicken Drumsticks

10 to 12 chicken drumsticks, cleaned and trimmed of fat
1/2 cup sweet chilli sauce
juice of 1/2 lime
1 tsp brown sugar
1.5 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp fish sauce
3 cloves of garlic, minced
2 tbsp of minced coriander leaves
1 tsp pepper
optional: 1 tbsp spicy chilli sauce (eg. Sriracha)
to serve: lime wedges

In a large bowl, toss together all of the ingredients (except lime wedges). Marinade for at least 1 hour or overnight in the fridge.
Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.
Line a baking tray with foil and grease with baking spray or oil.
Lay out drumsticks (and sauce, if you like).
Cover tray with foil and roast for 25 minutes (this is to prevent the drumsticks from drying out).
Remove foil and return to oven for 15 minutes or until drumsticks are cooked through.
Garnish with lime wedges and serve with your choice of accompaniments.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Mains, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

