Southern Creamy Corn Pudding

Southern Creamy Corn Pudding

Southern Creamy Corn Pudding

I’ve mentioned this before – I have a thing for American food. It’s usually wacky, possibly unhealthy and finger-licking good. I’m thinking fried chicken, biscuits and gravy, pancake stacks with lashings of maple syrup, and other types of artery-clogging goodness. Yes, please! But on the other hand, I also love discovering other types of homey, everyday dishes that are more well-balanced, such as traditional Southern ones.

No, really, I do.

Corn pudding is baked in a casserole dish in a bain marie or water bath for about 2 hours and when it’s done, its golden top hides a soft interior I’d describe as an altogether amazing combination of sweet, salty, creamy and hearty. Texture-wise, it’s like eating airy, sweet and light mash with random bits of smashed up corn kernels. Described as a ‘cheat’s souffle’, it makes for a wonderful side dish that I really enjoyed and would be happy to serve again and again. Best of all, it’s made with ingredients that you probably either already have in your pantry or ones that are easily found in any supermarket.

I created this adaptation because twelve serves is simply way too much, even for a glutton like me, and I didn’t have cayenne pepper lying around. Also, I added some honey+butter almonds (pretty obvious why I’ve called them that, I suppose!) on the side for anyone who wanted a bit more bite. This savoury yet sweet pudding would go really well with the ‘drier’ proteins such as grilled chicken because of its creaminess, but I chose to pair it with my Thai-style roasted chicken drumsticks, the recipe of which I will share with you soon. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy this!

Creamy Corn Pudding
Adapted from Feast on the Cheap

Serves six (generously) as a side dish

60 g unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 eggs
2 x 420 g of creamed corn
1/2 cup evaporated milk
3 1/2 tbsp of plain flour
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tbsp salt
1/8 tsp of smoky paprika

Pre-heat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
Use baking spray to grease a 1-litre casserole dish.
Mix all ingredients in a large bowl and pour into casserole.
Place casserole in a deep pan (eg. brownie pan), which will be the bain marie.
Put these in the oven, then pour hot water into the pan until it covers 2 inches up the side of the casserole (it’s easier than pouring first so you don’t have to worry about spilling the hot water).
Bake for 2 hours. Check that the pudding is firm and golden on top.
Serve as a side dish.

Honey+Butter Almonds

1 handful of almonds, roughly chopped and salted
1 tbsp butter
1/2 tbsp honey

Add butter to a hot pan and when bubbling, add almonds.
Fry quickly and add honey.
Stir until suitably brown and remove almonds. Discard leftover oil.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Southern Creamy Corn Pudding

  1. Pingback: Thai Inspired Roasted Chicken Drumsticks | eatnownownow

Leave a Reply

