Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

It feels as though I’m telling the world I have a sweet tooth with my second blog post focused on cupcakes AGAIN, but I can’t seem to think that’s a bad thing! Guess I shouldn’t even bother pretending that I don’t love sweets! Let’s roll on with the recipe, shall we?

Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

Red velvet is very common in the US; it’s so common that I guess restaurants must feel the need to spice it up because I’ve even seen bizarre pictures of a red velvet waffle with buttermilk fried chicken! Many people are surprised to find out that cocoa powder is one of the ingredients in red velvet. Also, it is most often paired with a very sinful cream cheese frosting that is definitely good enough to spoon directly into your mouth. And so you should; but be mindful that these cupcakes would be doubly amazing with the frosting, which you want. Okay?

Repeat after me, you want the cupcakes WITH this frosting!

Cream cheese frosting & silver cachous

Cream cheese frosting & silver cachous

I made these for a lovely friend’s birthday surprise (hello, Carol!) awhile back as these are her favourite. I didn’t have any prior experience with red velvet, so I consulted who I thought would be the best to provide advice: an American boy! After running this recipe past him and making adjustments based on the included comments (don’t you just love the Internet?), my version came together.

And boy, do I love red velvet tinted glasses!

This recipe makes eleven cupcakes. Don’t ask me why! As per the instructions, I filled the liners up to the 2/3 mark and post-baking, these were perfect. For those who MUST have a dozen, fill it up to the halfway mark and you should be able to make twelve, though they may come up a little… well, short. You may also need to adjust the baking time so watch that oven. The instructions were perfect, thanks to Paula Deen, so here they are, except for the American spelling, which I cannot stand. And if you noticed I spell ‘mom’ in my previous post in the American way, that’s because ‘mum’ looks weird to my eyes. Go figure.

A bite into the red velvet cupcake!

A bite into the red velvet cupcake!

For those who do not own a piping bag for frosting, you can always scoop the frosting into a ziplock bag and then snip off one end. Et voila, makeshift piping bag! This way, you can always frost cupcakes on the spot and have them looking perfect without worrying whether or not they survive car rides. If I’m driving, chances are….

Well… Anyway, onto the recipe!

Birthday girl and her favourite red velvet cupcakes

Birthday girl and her favourite red velvet cupcakes

Red Velvet Cupcakes

  • 1 1/4 cups plain flour
  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 2 tbsp red food colouring
  • 1/2 tsp white vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • optional: additional toppings (cachous/icing flowers/raspberries/strawberries)

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees C.
Line 11 holes of one muffin tray with cupcake liners (yes, it’s odd!).
Sift the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder into a medium-sized bowl.
In a large bowl, beat the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food colouring, vinegar, and vanilla essence with a handheld electric mixer OR use a whisk but make sure you mix thoroughly.
Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.
Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled.
Bake for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pan once, halfway through.
Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.
Optional: pile on your chosen toppings.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 150 grams cream cheese, softened
  • 50 grams butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar

In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth.
Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated.
Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.
Eat a spoonful. JUST ONE.

Consume within 1 to 2 days, but I think that shouldn’t be any trouble at all!

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Red velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting

  1. ruby says:

    I made these a couple of weeks ago- except I got confused with what was a muffin and what was a cupcake (blonde moment) and added frozen rasberries and white chocolate into the mixture. The result was extremely delish though! Also, I either added too much cocoa or not enough red dye, because when it cooked it went dark :s

  2. saphster says:

    Haha, that does sound yummy! Might have been insufficient red dye, though two tablespoons is a lot of colouring for one batch, I reckon!

  3. Sam says:

    Loving your blog, sapphster! Brilliant work! 🙂 And a pleasant surprise to also see the “birthday girl” in one of the photos too – Hi Carol!! (waves)

  4. Pingback: How to make your own buttermilk | eatnownownow

  5. Pingback: Soy and Apple Streusel Muffins | eatnownownow

Leave a Reply

