Brown butter cupcakes with cookie dough frosting (and filling!)

Brown butter cupcakes filled with cookie dough and topped with cookie dough frosting

Brown butter cupcakes filled with cookie dough and topped with cookie dough frosting

The best part about baking has to be licking mixing bowls! For those who have never tried it, don’t slam it until you have, ’cause I am incredibly sure that you wouldn’t regret it. Whilst this is perfectly fine with frosting and icing, this (deliciously unhygienic) practice is not advised with cake batter/cookie dough because plenty of recipes require the use of raw eggs and you could possibly get salmonella. Possibly. I do it anyway, but then I’m hardly a good role model!

Of course, I’m not about to bait you guys with the temptation of licking a mixing bowl without providing a solution. Yes, there is one, ladies and gentlemen, and it’s eggless cookie dough!

The idea came from Cupcake Project and it is indeed brilliant. With no egg used in the mix, you can eat as much as you like without worrying about salmonella (pfft, what is that salmon you speak of?!) or an upset stomach. Time to take all that boring vanilla ice-cream out of the freezer, and introduce it to yummy cookie dough! Sorry, Ben & Jerry’s – it’s time to take a backseat, boys!

Eggless Cookie Dough & Brown Butter Cupcakes

Eggless Cookie Dough & Brown Butter Cupcakes

But then of course, there was also a recipe by Cupcake Project which paired this cookie dough with lovely Brown Butter cupcakes. As her variation did not turn out as well as she liked, I looked at the original recipe and tweaked it just a tiny bit to suit the contents of my pantry. Let me tell you, brown butter is absolute gold (not simply for its colour) because for once in my life, I didn’t even want frosting! My kitchen smelled exactly like what I imagine the aroma of buttery cupcake heaven to be, and I wanted to hide all twelve of them for myself. Such buttery goodness, mmm!

Filling the cupcakes with cookie dough

Filling the cupcakes with cookie dough

In my versions of the recipes below, I have made enough cookie dough to fill and frost a dozen of these beautiful cupcakes. When the cupcakes were cooled, I used the knife end of a kiwi ‘spoon’ (yes, one of those yellow plastic ones that you get from supermarkets) to dig out the top portion of the cupcake, inserted a spoonful of cookie dough and put the top back on. Then I made the frosting,Β used 1.5 teaspoons on each cupcake and then sprinkled chocolate chips on top. I only topped ten of the cupcakes with frosting because dad’s lactose intolerant. Also, if it were up to me, the cookie dough would have plenty of chocolate chips (feel free to add whatever you like!), but my mother doesn’t eat much chocolate. Seriously. How could a chocoholic and someone who doesn’t have the slightest inclination towards chocolate even be related?!

Haha, love you, mom!

Brown butter cupcakes ready to be frosted!

Brown butter cupcakes ready to be frosted!

Eggless Cookie Dough

  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 75 g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup raw brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • chocolate chips/crushed nuts (peanuts/walnuts/pecans/whatever!)/raisins (optional)

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and it’s ready for use/immediate gratification (preferably the latter, I say, but anyone would have more restraint than me)!

Brown Butter Cupcakes

(Makes a dozen)

  • 140g unsalted butter
  • 3/4 self-raising flour
  • 7 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp milk

Place butter into a saucepan and stir until it melts and turns into a dark golden colour.
Strain into a bowl. Leave it to cool and place it in the fridge for 10 minutes until it solidifies (but still soft).
Line a 12-hole muffin tray with cupcake liners and pre-heat oven to 205 degrees C.
Place brown butter into a kitchen mixer along with the rest of the ingredients (except the milk).
Mix until all ingredients are incorporated. Scrape down the sides of the mixer with a spatula.
Add in 1 tbsp of milk and pulse. Repeat with the rest of the milk.
Fill cupcake liners halfway. Don’t worry if it doesn’t look like it’s enough, they will rise to the top like champions!
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until golden brown. Check at the 15-minute mark – that’s all the time it may need. Remove from oven.
When cool, remove the top of the cupcakes with a paring knife/the knife end of a kiwi spoon and fill with a heaping tsp of cookie dough. Place the top back on and it’s time to frost!

Frosting

With the leftover cookie dough, add in 2 tbsp of milk (or cream) and stir the mixture. You can add more, depending on the consistency that you like your frosting. Top with 2 tsp of frosting using a piping bag or a spoon. Sprinkle with chocolate chips/chopped nuts (optional).

Eat within 1 to 2 days. Or invite me over.

About saphster

Twenty-two year old who loves coffee and chocolate too much for my own good. I bake in my free time and read food blogs until late in the night (avoid this; it causes hunger pangs!). If I had a bucket list, it'd consist of places that I'd like to dine at. I would love to learn about authentic French cuisine and I wish I could master making macarons - they're too darn intimidating. I whine about how unhealthy some foods can be, but I pack away dessert like I've been starving myself. This isn't much of a secret, but I adore McDonald's breakfast and French fries. I know I shouldn't! Oh, and I believe no one should eat mediocre food that they don't enjoy because it's not worth the calories.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Dessert, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brown butter cupcakes with cookie dough frosting (and filling!)

  1. Kevin says:

    *Like*
    πŸ˜€

  2. Carol says:

    well, final-effing-ly! πŸ˜€ so where’s mine? and good job darling πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  3. Pi says:

    Send some over! I’m too ill to bake! *cough cough*

  4. Jo says:

    One of the best cupcakes I have ever eaten after your Lindt Lindor cupcakes you made for my birthday few years ago.

  5. Pingback: Post-Australian Red Cross Big Cake Bake! | eatnownownow

Leave a Reply

